Quotes To Live By

May 28, 2008

“If you love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace. We seek not your counsel, nor your arms. Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds you. May your chains set lightly upon you; and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.”

– Samuel Adams

“Those who know that they are profound strive for clarity. Those who would like to seem profound to the crowd strive for obscurity. For the crowd believes that if it cannot see to the bottom of something it must be profound. It is so timid and dislikes going into the water.”

– Friedrich Nietzsche

“Be very, very careful what you put into that head, because you will never, ever get it out.”

– Thomas Cardinal Wolsey

“Almost all of our sorrows spring out of our relations with other people.”

– Arthur Schopenhauer

“You don’t have to be a house to be haunted.”

– Emily Dickinson

“Where there is a stink of shit there is a smell of being.”

– Antonin Artaud

“Whoever remains unmoved, whoever cannot contemplate or know the deep shudder of the soul to enchantment, might as well be dead, for he has already closed his eyes upon life.”

– Albert Einstein

“What you have inherited from your forefathers you must first win for yourself if you are to possess it.”

– Goethe

“If you wish to strive for peace of soul and pleasure, then believe; if you wish to be a devotee of truth, then inquire…”

– Friedrich Nietzsche

“He who doesn’t fear death dies only once.”

– Giovanni Falcone

“Beethoven can write music, thank God, but he can do nothing else on earth.”

– Ludwig Van Beethoven

“A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become superfluous.”

– Ingrid Bergman

“I was born when she kissed me. I died when she left me. I lived a few weeks while she loved me.”

– Humphrey Bogart

“The only true madness is loneliness,
the monotonous voice in the skull
that never stops
because never heard.”

– John Montague

“But the worst of it is that it is just this contentment that I cannot endure. After a short time it fills me with irrepressible hatred and nausea. In desperation, I have to escape and throw myself on the road to pleasure, or if that cannot be, on the road to pain. When I have neither pleasure nor pain and have been breathing for a while the lukewarm insipid air of these so-called good and tolerable days, I feel so bad in my childish soul that I smash my moldering lyre of thanksgiving in the face of the slumbering god of contentment and would rather feel the devil burn in me than this warmth of a well-heated room. A wild longing for strong emotions and sensations seethes in me, a rage against this toneless, flat, normal and sterile life. For what I have always hated and detested and cursed above all things was this contentment, this healthiness and comfort, this carefully preserved optimism of the middle classes, this fat and prosperous brood of mediocrity… ”

– Herman Hesse, Steppenwolf<

Leave a Reply

